With the rapidly changing environment regarding COVID-19, EducationPlannerBC is committed to providing students, parents and educators with information from post-secondary institutions as quickly as possible. Our Helpdesk will remain available to answer any questions or concerns regarding applications.

Please find links to post-secondary institution websites regarding their response on COVID-19 in our FAQs.

Please find the Ministry of Education regular updates regarding COVID-19 here: Safe & Healthy Schools.

Feedback Close the survey

Who's Involved


The EducationPlannerBC committees and working groups are made up of representatives from BC public post-secondary institutions, including Registrars, Provosts, Vice Presidents Student Affairs, and Chief Information Officers.

Representatives from a large variety of the 25 BC public post-secondary institutions have been involved in the initial development and planning, and will be involved in varying degrees moving forward.

The ongoing operations and expansion of EducationPlannerBC are managed by staff members located in both Vancouver and Victoria.





To provide strategic advice and joint sector oversight to guide the broad policy and governance decisions for EducationPlannerBC development


The Nominations Committee is responsible for overseeing succession planning for the board and subcommittees, ensuring that selection criteria are being met, recommending potential directors to the Board (for eventual appointment by the general membership) and recommending membership for subcommittees to the board. Its purpose is to ensure the timely identification and selection of new directors and representatives in the event of anticipated or unanticipated vacancies from the board and subcommittees.


The Functional Advisory Committee provides support and advice to the Executive Director, EducationPlannerBC (EPBC) on functional enhancements and technology development for application services and transcript services to ensure the best user experience for applicants/users and Post Secondary Institutions (PSI).


To provide a reference group for PESC XML transcript standards and inter-institutional exchange, so that all participating BC PSIs are following the same convention for transcript exchange.

Steering Committee

  • Dr. Kathy Denton, Douglas College (Co-Chair)
  • Dr. Kate Ross, University of British Columbia (Co-Chair)
  • Sally Barton, Ministry of Education
  • Daniel Blue, Simon Fraser University
  • Michael Bluhm, Thompson Rivers University
  • Mary DeMarinis, Justice Institute of British Columbia
  • Dr. Jane Fee, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Dr. Andrew Hay, Okanagan College
  • Dr. Robert Fleming, BC Council on Admissions and Transfer
  • David Johnston, University of the Fraser Valley
  • Wency Lum, University of Victoria
  • Dr. Pam Ratner, University of British Columbia
  • Wendy Taylor (representing Dr. Jim Dunsdon), University of Victoria
  • Jeff Vasey, Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training

Nominations Committee

  • Dr. Kathy Denton, Douglas College (Chair)
  • Daniel Blue, Simon Fraser University
  • Michael Bluhm, Thompson Rivers University
  • Dr. Jane Fee, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Jeff Vasey, Ministry of Advanced Education, Skills and Training

Functional Advisory Committee

  • Mary DeMarinis, Justice Institute of BC (Chair)
  • Bert Annear, University of Northern British Columbia
  • David Johnston, University of the Fraser Valley
  • Karen McCredie, EducationPlannerBC
  • Zena Mitchell, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Sam Saini, University of British Columbia
  • Stephen Salem, Coast Mountain College
  • Jan Smith, Langara College

Transcript Services Reference Group

  • Elaine Baird, EducationPlannerBC
  • Steve Birnie, Simon Fraser University
  • Stefanie Carter, Douglas College
  • Pat Cretney, University of Victoria
  • Joseph Dubec, University of British Columbia
  • Sarah Graham, University of the Fraser Valley
  • Amanda Hawkins, University of Victoria
  • Marion Hannaford, Thompson Rivers University
  • Nadia Henwood, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Allan Hickey, Okanagan College
  • Juliana Hui, Simon Fraser University
  • Raymond Kaan, University of British Columbia
  • Jason Kwok, University of British Columbia
  • Rachel Lamb, Vancouver Island University
  • Jill Long, Selkirk College
  • Elena Machneva, Capilano University
  • Jessica Maitland, Douglas College
  • Natasha Makortoff, Selkirk College
  • Akhtar Malik, University of the Fraser Valley
  • Armity Namiranian, Simon Fraser University
  • Mike Peragine, Simon Fraser University
  • Dina Shafey, Simon Fraser University
  • Min-Ni Sharp, Simon Fraser University
  • Teryl Smith, Douglas College
  • Cathy van Soest, EducationPlannerBC
  • Terri Taylor, Kwantlen Polytechnic University
  • Wendy Taylor, University of Victoria
  • Anna Zhu, Langara College